Glossopdale School

Contact Us

Glossopdale School welcomes your questions, comments and suggestions.

If there is any issue or query that you would like to discuss please contact us on 01457 862336 or email info@glossopdale.school

If you would like to request a paper copy of the information on the school website please contact us on 01457 862336 or email info@glossopdale.school

During term time the office hours are 8:30 am - 4:00 pm Monday to Friday.
Outside of these hours and during holidays you are welcome to leave a message on our answering machine.

Guidelines for Parental Communication with School From 2018 

I know class teachers are very busy. Is it ok to contact them?

Yes, it is absolutely fine to contact a class teacher if you need to. We only ask that you respect the fact that most teachers teach around 200 students and cannot, therefore, realistically enter into a detailed dialogue over a prolonged period of time with individual parents. The vast majority of instances where parents need to contact teachers can be dealt with via a quick email exchange, so feel free to do this in the first instance. Please also note that, we do not expect teachers to reply to messages outside of working hours.

Can't I just contact the Headteacher if I've got a problem?

Yes, you are always welcome to contact the Headteacher if you feel you need to (by emailing the Headteacher's PA, via headteacher@glossopdale.school or calling (01457 862336). At the same time parents will appreciate that in many circumstances it may be more appropriate for another member of staff ,who has a more detailed knowledge of the issue to respond in the first instance.

How quickly can I expect a response to my queries?

Ordinarily you can expect a response (dependant on the enquiry) within 72 hours (Monday-Friday).

How do I know who is the best person to contact?

The table below is intended to help parents with information about who to contact in certain, common scenarios. If you are unsure about who to contact we recommend you call the main school reception on 01457 862336, where our staff will be able to point you in the right direction.

 Is there anything else I should bear in mind?

The only other thing we would say is that we understand that sometimes parents or carers may be frustrated about issues that arise and we will always do our best to solve these. Equally we would much prefer parents or carers to contact us directly with concerns rather than raise them on social media before we have had the chance to respond. At the same time please understand our staff are trying to resolve your concern and therefore any communication that is sent should not be rude, abusive or aggressive. We do not expect staff to respond to inappropriate communication.

 

Please see our Communications Policy for information about home/school contact. You can find this on the school website by using the following link http://www.glossopdale.school/Policies/

 

Reference table

Issue

Who to contact

How

Any safeguarding concern

Mr Bruce,  Deputy Assistant Principal - Welfare

Via reception 01457 862336

abruce@glossopdale.school

Welfare concerns

e.g. Friendship issues, cyber bullying or questions about uniform 

The first point of contact would be your child’s tutor or the Year Manager for your child’s year group.

 

Year 7 Mrs Naylor

mnaylor@glossopdale.school

 

Year 8  Ms Rogan

lrogan@glossopdale.school

 

Year 9  Miss Beddows

ebeddows@glossopdale.school

 

Year 10 Mrs Heap

hheap@glossopdale.school

 

Year 11 Mr Lownes

rlownes@glossopdale.school

 

Post 16  Mrs Courtney

scourtney@glossopdale.school

 

Concerns about your child's progress in a particular subject or homework

Class teacher initially, but please contact the Faculty Team Leader for the subject team if this does not resolve the issue.

 

Alternatively, you may contact the Progress Leader for your child’s year group.

 

Email  info@glossopdale.school and in the title please write the name of the teacher concerned.

 

Year 7      Mrs Lane

llane@glossopdale.school

 

Year 8      Mrs Gregory

sgregory@glossopdale.school

 

Year 9      Mrs Jones

sjones@glossopdale.school

 

Year 10    Dr Coimbra

scoimbra@glossopdale.school

 

Year 11    Mrs Kelly

lkelly@glossopdale.school

 

Post 16    Miss Geary

lgeary@glossopdale.school

 

Questions about school transport

Mrs J Peck

Finance Manager

Email

Jpeck@glossopdale.school

 

Questions about hiring our premises.

Miss L Pace

Community Development Manager

Email

theplace@glossopdale.school

Tel: 01457 605897

Questions about exams

Mrs J Wright

Exams Manager

 

Email

jwright@glossopdale.school